Stage One – Nominations

The legal industry is invited to nominate and provide insight into the most outstanding individuals, firms or organisations of the calendar year 2022. All nominations must be made via the online nomination portal on the Australasian Law Awards website. Click on one of the ‘nomination buttons’ here to start your submission.

To complete a nomination, you’ll be required to:

1. Provide a nomination submission of no more than 650 words following the criteria listed here.

The information you include will be provided to a panel of judges who will vote for the eventual winner in each category. Examples of suitable information to include are:
  • Awards, accolades or specific third-party commendations relevant to the award category
  • A general overview of your achievements within the judging period (calendar year 2022)
  • Brief details of any other special initiatives undertaken during the judging period
  • Qualitative and quantitative information on all measurable success

2. Provide a further summary for publication (max. 100 words) in either bullet point or paragraph format. The summary may be published on the event website and/or in the official winners edition of the Australasian Lawyer e-magazine so please do not include any confidential information.

3. Provide your headshot (for individual nominations) or your company logo (for firms/team nominations)

4. Provide supporting documentation and a media link (this can be a link to a website, a video, a Dropbox folder, etc.). This step is not mandatory

Stage Two – Research

The Australasian Law Awards team will conduct research and draw on industry knowledge and information gained through sister publication Australasian Lawyer to identify the outstanding firms, teams, individuals and deals in each category that will receive an “Excellence Award”.

Stage Three  – Confirmation of excellence awardees

Once the research has been completed, excellence awardees will be selected in each category and notified via e-mail. Excellence awardees will also be announced on The Australasian Lawyers’ website on Monday 20 March 2023.

Stage Four – Judging

The Australasian Law Awards team will provide full details of each Excellence Awardee to an independent panel of judges. The panel will assess and score each nomination according to the criteria listed here.

Stage Five – Winners

Using a simple points system to aggregate judges’ scores, the Excellence Awardee with the highest score in each category will be selected as the Winner. Winners will be announced at the Australasian Law Awards on 18 May at The Fullerton Hotel Sydney, followed by an exclusive comprehensive commemorative guide.


Register today and keep up to date with every key deadline and milestone throughout the Australasian Law Awards process.